How about those Ravens?

ImageI’m sure that 90% of my readers were watching the Super Bowl last night. Super Bowl XLVII, nicknamed the “Harbowl” (because the two Harbaugh brothers, Jim and John, were the ones coaching the opposing teams) was one heck of a game. The Baltimore Ravens aren’t even one of my absolute favorites (obviously, if you read my blog at all,  you know that would be the Green Bay Packers & The Tampa Bay Buccaneers), but they come in my top five favorite teams. They have an all star line up, without a doubt. I mean, who really wants to go head to head with Ray Lewis on the field? On the other side, you have the San Francisco 49ers. To be honest, these are one of those teams I don’t like…at all. I liked Alex Smith to be sure, but I know I’m not the only one out there who was upset when Kaepernick replaced Smith so close to the end of the season. I will give credit where credit is due, however, and admit that San Fran played one heck of a game last night, and they’ve had a pretty darn good season this year. If I were a fan, I’d be pretty dang excited at how well they’ve been doing.

I, of course, was rooting for the Ravens from the start. I painted my face purple and put in my purple temp hair dye- a strange break from the red/black or green/yellow I usually have on- and then I settled in to watch what would end up being one of the best games I’ve seen all year. At the very start of the game, from kick off onwards, the Ravens came out strong. They were crushing the 49ers and giving no mercy. Then the lights went out.

I personally thought it was strange that the lights went out, but then, no one really expects Imagethat during a football game, nonetheless the football game of the season. When play resumed after the power outage, there is no denying that the 49ers switch the tides and took top dog position for a while. They kept that top dog position right up until the last 5 minutes of the game, when the Ravens switched the tides just in time and managed to hold the 49ers at the goal. They efficiently stopped the touchdown which would have placed the 49ers in the lead, and gained possession of the ball. John Harbaugh put some time killing strategies into play, and the Ravens were able to hold out until the end, when they left Mercedes-Benz Stadium as Super Bowl champions.

One highlight from the game was undoubtedly the 108 yard return kick touchdown by Jacoby Jones from the Ravens. I think the whole world was staring, asking themselves, “Did he really just do that?”

Both Colin Kaepernick and Joe Flacco had their ‘strong arms’ going last night, and I couldn’t help but be amazed at some of the awesome distances they accurately threw.

In the end, it all boils down to the Baltimore Ravens winning the Super Bowl and Ray Lewis ending his career on the highest note he could have. Do you want to talk some football and share your favorite highlight moments from last nights game with me? Go for it! I can’t wait to hear what you have to say, and it make take some sting out of the pro football season officially ending.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,336 other followers

